TRIATHLON | Trinidad and Tobago Triathlon Federation

 AFFILIATE Trinidad and Tobago Triathlon Federation
 PRESIDENT Paul Heehoung
 SECRETARY Karen Araujo
 MAILING ADDRESS P.O Box 1694 Wrightson Road, Port of Spain

TT Triathlon Federation (TTTF) executive member Karen Araujo has been elected to one of two positions available on the Association of Commonwealth Triathlon (ACT) board.

This was revealed in a statement issued by the TTTF on Saturday.

At the ACT meeting, on Thursday, Araujo received more votes (14) than Austalia’s Michelle Cooper (12), Great Britain’s Debbie Clark (11) and Rwanda’s Joie Lea Biosketch (nine).

ACT members were all asked to vote before the meeting.

The statement read, “Karen has worked tirelessly over the past ten years in our beloved sport and deserves all of the recognition that she is being afforded.

"Her dedication to the sport of triathlon in the region and her drive to see further development is unmeasurable. This is a win not just for Trinidad and Tobago but the wider Caribbean as well. We take this time to congratulate Karen on this landmark achievement!”


DEREK Daniel has been elected as president of the TT Triathlon Federation (TTTF), with Karen Araujo as his deputy, Mandisa Leacock taking on the role as secretary and Colin Hosein as treasurer.

Also on the TTTF executive committee is Lara Baden-Semper, who will serve as past executive member.

Daniel brings with him a wealth of knowledge as an administrator, coach and athlete. A founding member, president and coach of XO Multi-Sport Club, Daniel is a British Triathlon Federation Level 2 and IRONMAN certified coach. He has also competed in a variety of races, at age group levels, locally, regionally and internationally.

Araujo is a long-serving member of the TTTF. She is the president of CAC Triathlon, an executive member of the regional governing body Pan American Triathlon Confederation (PATCO) and is a member of the World Triathlon Women’s Committee. She is a development swim coach, and a World Triathlon Level 1 technical official.

Leacock is a qualified sports administrator and event coordinator with over a decade of experience in both swimming and triathlon. She has served in various positions at the 2010 and 2011 Goodwill Swimming Games, the 2017 CCCAN and at the 2018 Triathlon CARIFTA Games. She is an executive member of the RJR Triathlon Club.

Hosein has been on the executive of the TTTF for the past two years. He has been in sports administration for over 25 years having served previously as president of the Alescon Comets Sports Club. He is also the vice chairman of an NGO (Non-Government Organisation) supporting young entrepreneurs - Youth Business TT for the past ten years. He is a career banker with over 25 years’ experience.

The TTTF issued a media release, in which they stated, "The new committee seeks to expand the talent pool of both youths and juniors in the sport through working closely with schools to develop school teams that would start by participating in the Federation’s school series, as well as attract more adults to the sport through the hosting of education programmes and more frequently held multi-sport events.

The election of the new executive comes on the heels of a new brand identity by World Triathlon, formerly the International Triathlon Union (ITU). As a new era in triathlon is ushered in globally, the TTTF seeks to continue to develop the sport of triathlon, creating pathways for the nation’s athletes, coaches and administrators locally, regionally and internationally.